PARENTS – PLEASE BE AWARE. PLEASE SHARE!
Snapchat has just had a huge update. It now shows where any of the user’s (your child’s) friends are at any time. It uses GPS to precisely pinpoint on a map where users are, even changing to a car when they move quickly. Your child and other users are depicted by a Bitmoji (as seen in the attached image).
Once you get onto the Snap Map it’ll show you where your Snapchat friends are and what they are doing if they share a picture. The update also allows you to upload Snaps to the “Our Story” so that anyone can see your picture.
It may seem like innocent fun but if your children have their location shared then people can potentially track them down.
The map shows exactly where they are, down to a specific building or area of a building, which has raised serious concerns.
Don’t worry though – if you don’t want your location shared then you can set up a “Ghost Mode” to keep it private.
You will see your Bitmoji (or your green silhouette), click on it and your settings appear at the bottom of the screen. Click there and turn ‘ghost mode’ on.
Ghost mode is only available if you have done the update. The update was effective from 21st June.