National Citizen Service – Summer Programme

NCS 1Dear Year 11 student,

Adam Gill and Jennie Garroway recently visited the Academy to tell you about a fun-filled, action packed programme that you can take part in this summer once your GCSE’s have finished.

National Citizen Service is a great way of making new friends and taking part in activities that you may never have tried before. The programme aims to help you to develop the skills that employers are looking for: confidence, team work and resilience. If you are thinking of going to uni in the future, UCAS recommend that you mention taking part in NCS in your application. It involves:

A week long residential at an Outward Bound Centre in the Lake District, the team leaders there are fully trained instructors, so don’t worry. You will be in safe hands.  
A week long  local residential, staying in university halls developing your independent living skills.
For the remaining 2 weeks, you will met up daily to plan and carry out a project for the benefit of your local community.

Last year in West Cumbria we raised a staggering £4,000 pounds for local groups and charities; this year we want to raise even more!

 There are plenty of dates to chose from so the chances are that we can work around any commitments that you have during the holidays.

 

Wave 1 4 Teams
Monday 27th June to Friday 22nd July

Wave 2 6 Teams
Monday 4th July to Friday 29th July 

Wave 3 5 Teams
Monday 11th July to Friday 5th Aug

 Wave 4 – 6 Teams
Monday 8th Aug to Friday 2nd Sept

 Wave 5 5 Teams
Monday 15th Aug to Friday 9th Sept

 

Places are limited and are allocated on a first come first served basis and we really don’t want you to miss out.

There are a number of ways you can sign up to NCS:
Give us a ring at the office on 01900 604674 and we can sign you up over the phone
OR
Head to our national site at  http://www.ncsnorthwest.co.uk/  and complete the online application form

Come and have the time of your life…