Oscars Night at The Whitehaven Academy

We celebrated our fifth annual ‘Academy Oscars’ ceremony on the 9th July at The Whitehaven Golf Club. Students, parents and staff attended the glamorous event to celebrate student achievements from throughout the year.

A number of awards were given out to each year group, as well as 15 overall awards for outstanding achievements across the whole school. Awards were presented by heads of years, members of the academy’s senior leadership team, the Chair of Governors and a representative from Bright Tribe Trust.

The evening’s entertainment was provided by Year 10 pupil Emily Grey, Year 11 students Jessica McKee and Megan Smith and the winning video from the Rock Challenge Northern Primer Finals.

Philip Grant, our Principal, commented: “The ceremony on Thursday evening was undoubtedly one of the highlights of the academic year. The venue, organisation and evening were superb. Dean Smith, Ellie Ford and Luke Johnston were outstanding hosts and Emily Grey, Jessica McKee and Megan Smith were inspirational and I can’t wait until I see them on Britain’s got Talent! Plans have already started to be drafted for the 2016 event and ideas formulating as to how we can include more staff and students…watch this space. Well done to all the staff who attended and supported the evening.”

Ellie Ford, Year 12 and Keavy Horricks, Year 11 were named as Students of the Year and awarded their prize from Mr Grant and other overall winners included:

  • The Farrar Memorial STEM Award: Holly Evans, Year 11
  • Community Champion Award: Luke Johnston, Year 12
  • Team of the Year: Race2Space
  • Bright Tribe ‘Extraordinary People Award’: Emily Grey

The event was a great success and pupils, staff and parents all agreed that it was a really special evening. Special thanks go to the awards’ sponsors Bright Tribe Trust, Step By Step Education, Mellors Catering, Sports Wear International (SWI), Whitehaven Trophies, Crown Celebrations, Commando Joes and the Farrar Memorial Trust

View the awards programme for all the winners